Waiting

Six days “under review” at a certain short-story market which shall remain unnamed so as not to tip off the search-bots and spoil the whole thing. My head is about to explode.

If this story gets published here, it will really be something. First of all, it’s a notoriously difficult market to crack. Secondly, this is only my third submission, and only the second story I’ve submitted; beyond that, it’s also the first story I finished.

Beyond that, it also breaks a small handful of cardinal rules. It features an unnamed protagonist, and it’s written in first-person present tense. The latter lends credence to the former – I didn’t leave him nameless as a ‘trick,’ but rather because there was simply no good reason to name him. I tried it; it fell flat.

In other news, I’ve been reading G.K. Chesterton’s “The Defendant.” It’s funny, smart, and all-too applicable. I’m planning to do my own collection of defenses starting soon.

UPDATE: Aaaand waiting no longer. I got the “hope that you’ll send us another story soon” rejection. Which is actually pretty awesome, but it doesn’t really feel that way at the moment. Anyone have a suggestion where to go next?

Leave a Reply

